William Jusko recognized for lifetime career achievements by the International Society of Pharmacometrics

By Kara Sweet

Published September 25, 2019

William Jusko, PhD.

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences William J. Jusko (BS ’65 & PhD ‘70) is the 2019 recipient of the Lewis B. Sheiner Lecturer Award from the International Society of Pharmacometrics.


The award was established in 2008 to acknowledge exceptional and outstanding lifetime career achievements and leadership in the field of pharmacometrics. It is the highest recognition by the International Society of Pharmacometrics (ISoP).

Jusko was recognized on Oct. 20 at the Tenth American Conference on Pharmacometrics (ACoP) meeting in Orlando, FL.

A UB faculty member since 1972, Jusko studies the disposition and pharmacological effects of drugs and the optimization of dosing for immunosuppressive, anti-diabetic and cancer treatments. His work has led to significant advances in mathematical and computer modeling of the time-course of events following drug dosing.

Jusko’s catalogue of awards is unparalleled, and includes the Oscar B Hunter Therapeutics Award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, a coveted MERIT (Method to Extend Research in Time) award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the Russell R. Miller Award and the Distinguished Service Award, both from the American College of Clinical Pharmacology (ACCP), the Research Achievement Award in Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics and Drug Metabolism from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS), honorary doctorates from the Jagiellonian University in Krakow and the University of Paris Descartes, and a Fulbright Scholarship.

Jusko has published more than 600 research articles and serves on the editorial boards of numerous academic journals, including as editor-in-chief for the Journal of Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics.

He has also worked as a consultant for the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Clinical Pharmacology Advisory Committee, the NIH Pharmacology Study Section, the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, and several pharmaceutical companies.

From 2001 to 2016, Jusko served as chair of the UB Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. More than 100 students and fellows have completed training under his supervision.

Jusko is a fellow of the ACCP, AAPS, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and ISoP.

For over 130 years, the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has continually been a leader in the education of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists, renowned for innovation in clinical practice and research. The school is accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) and is the No. 1 ranked school of pharmacy in New York State and No. 22 in the United States by U.S. News & World Report.