Sprowl receives AACP New Investigator Award

By Kara Sweet

Published January 28, 2019

Jason Sprowl, PhD, assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences, has received a 2019 New Investigator Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP).

Jason Sprowl.

The award is in support of Sprowl’s research project titled, “Regulation of SGLT1 Function by Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors.”

The AACP New Investigator Award provides research start-up funding for the independent research programs of early-career pharmacy faculty. Sprowl will receive a grant of up to $10,000 and an additional $1,000 from AACP for required travel to present his research findings at the AACP Annual Meeting to be held July 18-22, 2020 at the Long Beach Convention and Entertainment Center in Long Beach, California.

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy is a national organization representing pharmacy education in the United States. The mission of AACP is to lead and partner with its members in advancing pharmacy education, research, scholarship, practice and service to improve societal health.

For over 130 years, the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has continually been a leader in the education of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists, renowned for innovation in clinical practice and research. The school is accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) and is the No. 1 ranked school of pharmacy in New York State and No. 22 in the United States by U.S. News & World Report.