Alumni Awards

We proudly recognize our alumni for their outstanding accomplishments and the distinction they bring to our school.

SPPS Alumni Awards

We proudly recognize outstanding alumni every fall at our annual reunion, commending those who over the past year have contributed significantly to our school's mission, the profession of pharmacy and scholarly achievements.

2023 Recipients

Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award

Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD ’79.

Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD ’79

Dean of the University of California San Francisco (UCSF), Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD ’79 is a world-renowned scientist in the field of membrane transporters and widely recognized for her work in transporter genomics and pharmacogenomics. 

She is a professor of bioengineering and therapeutic sciences in the UCSF School of Pharmacy, a department she chaired for more than 10 years. In her long career at UCSF, which began in 1982 when she joined the faculty as an assistant professor, Giacomini has been an active mentor to pharmacy students and graduate students. She is also a champion for women and underrepresented groups in science.

Giacomini earned the Volwiler Research Achievement Award – the highest research award given by the American Association of College of Pharmacy – and the Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award, a lifetime achievement award that recognizes individuals for their contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences. She is one of the few pharmacy-trained elected members of the National Academy of Medicine.

The Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award is given annually to an outstanding alumni pharmacist who personifies the ideals of service, integrity, and who, in the eyes of his or her associates, personifies the profession of pharmacy. This is the Alumni Association's most prestigious award.

Read more about Giacomini's outstanding professional accomplishments, here

Orville C. Baxter Memorial Professional Practice Award

Karen M. (Wilson) Brim, BS '82.

Karen M. (Wilson) Brim, BS '82

Karen M. (Wilson) Brim, BS '82 has spent the last 40+ years working as a pharmacist and advocating for better health outcomes and enhanced community engagement in underserved communities. 

As a clinical pharmacist at Independent Health, a position she has held since 2000, Brim plays an integral role in new product evaluation, managed care activities and provider relations. 

Brim is strong advocate for diversity, inclusion and belonging, evidenced through her work on Independent Health’s Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging Core Team. 

She was a recipient of Buffalo Business First’s 2023 IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Awareness) award and in 2022, she was recognized by WGRZ TV with a ‘Selfless Among Us’ acknowledgement for her health care advocacy work. Since 2008, Brim has volunteered as a SPPS Dean’s Alumni Ambassador, mentoring many PharmD students and assisting with hundreds of prospective student interviews and application reviews.

The Orville C. Baxter Memorial Professional Practice Award recognizes an outstanding practicing alumni pharmacist who demonstrates high ideals of professionalism and whose practice demonstrates genuine concern for patients.

Learn more about Brim's dedication to the practice of pharmacy and genuine concern for patients here

An annual campus-wide tradition, this award program is presented by the University at Buffalo Alumni Association to recognize outstanding alumni and other university partners who demonstrate success in their careers, support the university and give back to their communities. 

2023 UB Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

Mark J. Sinnett BS ’83, PharmD ’87.

Mark J. Sinnett, BS '83, PharmD '87

Mark J. Sinnett, BS '83, PharmD '87 is director of clinical and educational pharmacy services at Montefiore Medical Center in the Bronx, NY where he leads a team of professionals and residents. He also plays a critical role in placing fourth year PharmD students from UB at Montefiore.

As an adjunct SPPS faculty member, Sinnett helped create a unique longitudinal advanced professional practice experience (APPE) rotation for students interested in a high-impact hospital rotation with diverse patient populations.

He co-chairs the Institutional Review Boards (IRB) for both BRANY (Biomedical Research Alliance of New York) and Montefiore Medical Center.

To further support the profession of pharmacy, Sinnett and his wife Merrette created the Mark J. Sinnett Scholarship, an endowed fund to help support PharmD students in need and who also demonstrate interest in outcomes-based research.

Discover more about why Sinnett is a UB Distinguished Alumnus, here.

SUNY Alumni Awards and Recognitions

The honorary doctorate degree is the highest form of recognition offered by the State University of New York (SUNY). Honorary degrees are awarded to alumni of exceptional distinction who are highly regarded for their significant achievements in their fields.