University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

John and Editha Kapoor Hall

The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences' new home (completed in 2012) is named in honor of alumnus, John N. Kapoor '72 (and his late wife, Editha).

Through the John and Editha Kapoor Charitable Foundation, he has generously supported UB Pharmacy, inspiring several other major donations in support of the new state-of-the-art facility that bears his name.

The 160,000-square foot facility is now home to the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, previously located in Cooke-Hochstetter Hall on the North Campus. Kapoor Hall, formerly Acheson Hall, was rehabbed and now includes many green-design features, such as maximizing natural daylight (75% of all space in the building receives natural light), creation of social spaces and the reuse of the Acheson Hall building footprint. The building offers a state-of-the-art Pharmaceutical Care and Teaching Center and has improved linkages between all UB's Health Science Schools and the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Classrooms with the latest technology

Kapoor Hall integrates the latest technologies into its classrooms. Two large lecture halls, as well as the Pine Pharmacy Pharmaceutical Care Learning Center Classroom and Patient Assessment/Counseling Rooms, provide students with assessment opportunities on mock patients. These multimedia spaces record the assessments so students can review and improve upon their skills The Model Pharmacy is a multi-use space for community and hospital based pharmaceutical exercises.

Robust research network

Our school is home to over 20 research facilities. In addition to Kapoor Hall, the campus boasts a robust network of clinical and research affiliations with a variety of local, regional, national and international sites, including Roswell Park Cancer Institute, the Nobel Prize-winning Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute, the New York State Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics and Life Sciences, the National Institutes of Health, the ACTG (AIDS Clinical Trial Group), and the University of Zimbabwe, Harare.

"); pageTracker._trackPageview();