University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Staff Member of the Year Award

Congratulations to Donna Ruszaj, our 2017 Staff Member of the Year Award recipient.

The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Staff Award recognizes an outstanding staff member of our school community. Consideration is given to those staff who, in the past year, went above and beyond their required position duties to positively impact members of the school. Nominations may be submitted from the school’s faculty, staff, students, and alumni.


Administrative, research, and professional staff are eligible. Previous winners are eligible for non-consecutive years. Faculty members are ineligible.


  • A minimum of 2 letters of support; a maximum of 3 letters of support.
  • Minimum of 1 year of service.
  • The nominator must seek agreement from the nominee prior to submission.  In addition, the nominator is strongly encouraged to solicit 2 additional letters of support for the candidate.
  • The nominator should include a paragraph of job duties/responsibilities in their nomination letter or the nominee may submit their performance program at their discretion.


The nomination should include specific example(s) of why the nominee deserves recognition. These examples should include impact on the school; professionalism and attitude; efficiency/effectiveness of their work; initiation of ideas; adaptability and flexibility; committee involvement; and other professional recognitions.

Staff Member of the Year Awardees

2017   Donna Ruszaj

2016   Sara Robinson and Kelly Sustakoski

2015   Carol Fritsch

2014   Kelly Tooley

2013   Michele Bewley

2012   Christine Stumm

2011   Jonathan Navratil

2010   Liz Rugg, Sara Renzi and Jill Hochreiter

2009   Juliet Warrick

2009   Pat Burch

2008   Kris Jordan and Jennifer Hess

"); pageTracker._trackPageview();