UB SPPS alumni, faculty, residents and students make an impact at APhA-ASP Annual Meeting


Jessica Costello, PharmD ’18

By Kara Sweet

Published April 3, 2019

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) held its 2019 Annual Meeting and Exposition in Seattle, WA. An impressive number of UB School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences alumni, faculty, residents and students attended the event and were involved in its success.

Edward M. Bednarczyk, BS ’84, PharmD, clinical associate professor, pharmacy practice, was elected president of the APhA-APRS. As president, his priorities are to promote the application of rigorous scientific assessment in all areas of pharmacy practice, to promote pharmacy meetings as critical platforms for presenting the science of therapeutics, and to promote the development of future researchers.

Joseph Saseen, BS ’92, PharmD ‘94, was appointed a 2019 APhA Fellow, recognized for his exemplary professional achievements in professional practice and outstanding service to the profession.

Troy Hoelzl, PharmD ’18.

Troy Hoelzl, PharmD ’18

Troy Hoelzl, PharmD ’18, and Jessica Costello, PharmD ’18, both PGY1 community-based residents at Middleport Family Health Center, presented posters entitled, respectively, “Impact of Blood Pressure Management Interventions Made by Community Pharmacists,” and “Assessment of the Perceptions and Implementation of Patient Care Services Within Community Pharmacies: A Mixed Methods Study.”

Erin Slazak, PharmD ‘04, clinical assistant professor, pharmacy practice.

Erin Slazak, PharmD ‘04, clinical assistant professor, pharmacy practice

Erin Slazak, PharmD ‘04, clinical assistant professor, pharmacy practice, received a Merit Award for her poster entitled “Implementation of a pharmacist-drive transitions of care pilot program in a primary care practice."

Laurie Plewinski, ’21, is the current president-elect of UB’s APhA-ASP chapter and was appointed to serve as the chair of the APhA-ASP National Communications Standing Committee for 2019-2020. In her new role, she will help APhA-ASP develop communications to chapters across the nation.

Megan O’Connor, ’19, represented UB in the National Patient Counseling Competition at the Annual Meeting. She also served as the student representative on the APhA New Business Review Committee and was a delegate for the state of New York in the APhA House of Delegates.

Eddy Pudim, ’21.

Eddy Pudim, ’21

Eddy Pudim, ’21, served as UB’s representative in the APhA House of Delegates and also organized a chapter dinner.

Rachel Mesina, ’21, as part of her position as Region 1’s Regional Delegate, served as a point of contact and a resource for all of the 19 chapters in Region 1, was an APhA-ASP delegate in the APhA House of Delegates, and was a member of the APhA-ASP New Business Review Committee.

The American Pharmacists Association is the largest association of pharmacists in the United States. As the voice of pharmacy, the American Pharmacists Association leads the profession and equips members for their role as the medication expert in team-based, patient-centered care.

For over 130 years, the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has continually been a leader in the education of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists, renowned for innovation in clinical practice and research. The school is accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) and is the No. 1 ranked school of pharmacy in New York State and No. 22 in the United States by U.S. News & World Report.