Rho Chi Honor Society virtually welcomes new members

Zoom call.

By Kara Sweet

Published May 12, 2020

The Omega chapter of Rho Chi Honor Society granted new membership to 28 students and two faculty members at the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

The new members were inducted virtually on May 7, 2020.

"This unconventional induction ceremony would not have been possible without the unbelievable contributions from this year's Rho Chi officers, vice president Ngan Nguyen, secretary Melissa Fan, treasurer Izumi Hamada, and historian Andy Tsang," says Denis Vanini, PharmD '21, previous president of Rho Chi. "We were so thrilled to finally celebrate the new inductees of the Rho Chi Omega Chapter and are even more excited to witness their future accomplishments!"

The new officers for the 2020-2021 academic year were sworn in as well: Nicholas Cashman, president; Keith Provost, vice president; Evelyn Wang, secretary; QingXiang Mo, treasurer; and Saveliy Buryaneko, historian.

Clinical Associate Professors Nicole Paolini-Albanese and Gina Prescott were inducted into the UB chapter as faculty members for their outstanding commitment to students, scholarship and the profession of pharmacy. This is the first time in the Omega Chapter's history that faculty membership has been awarded.

Brian Tsuji, professor, pharmacy practice, and associate dean for clinical and translational sciences, received the Rho Chi Outstanding Alumni Award.

Rho Chi is a national pharmacy honor society that promotes high scholarship. On the basis of their academic standing (top 20% of their class), students may be invited to membership in their second year of study.

2020 Rho Chi Omega Chapter Inductees

Faculty Members:

  • Dr. Nicole Albanese
  • Dr. Gina Prescott


  • Saveliy Buryanenko
  • Nicholas Cashman
  • Jianfa Chen
  • Alann Cheung
  • Yuenkiu Cheung
  • Olivia Denny
  • Sierra D’Ettorre 
  • Wiliam Dzanoucakis
  • Kathryn Gentz
  • Jiajie Guan
  • Jonathan Hoosein 
  • Joshua Jou
  • Fei Li
  • Angel Liu
  • Aleksandra Lomakin
  • Drake Meaney
  • QingXiang Mo
  • Stefani Papazaharias
  • Andrey Polukhin
  • Keith Provost
  • Marisa Saber
  • Randal Shearer Jr
  • Jasdip Singh
  • Hsuan Yun (Neo) Su
  • Rachel Tsang
  • Evelyn Wang
  • Jiachen Xu
  • Xinxin Yang

For over 130 years, the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has continually been a leader in the education of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists, renowned for innovation in clinical practice and research. The school is accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) and is the No. 1 ranked school of pharmacy in New York State and No. 14 in the United States by U.S. News & World Report.