UB Faculty Awards

On this page:

University of Buffalo President’s Medal

The University at Buffalo President's Medal shall be awarded in recognition of signal and extraordinary service to the University. Such service may comprise scholarly or artistic achievements, humanitarian acts, contributions of time or treasure, outstanding leadership, or any other act that makes a major contribution to the development of, or quality of life within, the University

Submission Date: TBA

UB Distinguished Professor

The Office of the Provost created the rank of UB Distinguished Professors to honor full professors who have achieved national or international recognition as experts in their fields of study. UB Distinguished Professors are members of the faculty who have been full professors for a minimum of five years with a demonstrated record of excellence in artistic or scholarly contributions.

Submission Date: March 1

Past SPPS Recipients

William Jusko - 2007
Ho-Leung Fung - 2012
Marilyn Morris - 2014
Robert Straubinger - 2017

UB Exceptional Scholars – Sustained Achievement Award

The Exceptional Scholar Award for Sustained Achievement was created by the University at Buffalo in 2002 to honor outstanding professional achievement that has been focused on a particular body of work over a number of years. This award was created to recognize an unprecedented accomplishment in a senior scholar's career, distinguishing a body of work of enduring importance that has gone beyond the norm in a particular field of study.

Submission Date: March 15

SPPS Past Recipients

William Jusko - 2002
Gene Morse - 2002
Wayne Anderson - 2006
Murali Ramanathan - 2016
Sathy Balu-Iyer - 2017

UB Exceptional Scholars – Young Investigator Award

Introduced in 2002, the University at Buffalo's Exceptional Scholar Award for Young Investigators celebrates a recent superior achievement of a scholar in his/her field of study. Such an achievement will have distinguished the recipient as an up-and-coming scholar, as well as earned the individual acclaim for his/her work, which could be a published work or other scholastic or artistic endeavor.

Submission Date: March 15

Past SPPS Recipients

Joseph Balthasar - 2002
Donald Mager - 2006
Brian Tsuji - 2008
Dhavalkumar Shah - 2016
Juliane Nguyen - 2017

UB Teaching Innovation Award

Established to honor exceptional educational pedagogy, UB's Award for Teaching Innovation was created in 2003 to recognize faculty who have contributed significantly to engaging students with new methods and approaches to teaching. The award recognizes faculty members whose innovative teaching methods have a demonstrable effect on enhancing student learning-outcomes.

Submission Date: March 15

Past SPPS Recipients

Curtis Hass - 2006
Robert Wahler - 2008
Daniel Brazeau - 2010
Sathy Balu Iyer - 2011
William Prescott - 2015

UB Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award

The Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award, established by UB's Graduate School in 2011, annually honors and publicly recognizes exceptional excellence in faculty mentoring of graduate students at UB. Award recipients are faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding and sustained support and development of graduate students from course completion through research and subsequent career placement. Nominees for the award must be current members of the UB Graduate Faculty and have held faculty appointment at UB for at least 5 years.

Submission Date: TBA