Yau receives AAPS Innovation in Biotechnology Award


Published May 11, 2017

An abstract submission authored by Fiona Yau, a PhD candidate in the lab of Sathy Balu-Iyer, professor, pharmaceutical sciences, received the 2017 American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) Innovation in Biotechnology Award at the National Biotechnology Conference (NBC).

Yau's abstract was titled “Role of Active Phosphatidylserine Species on Oral Tolerance Induction toward Factor VIII in Hemophilia A Mice.” She gave a podium presentation during the NBC annual meeting, held in May in San Diego, CA.

The Innovation in Biotechnology Award recognizes and promotes the achievements of individuals that demonstrate innovation in the area of biotechnology. Abstracts are judged on the following criteria:

  • Exemplifies innovation across various disciplines across biotechnology
  • Demonstrates originality in research or approach focused on addressing a problem
  • Provides an impact on basic science by which it can be applied to drug development
  • Represents a creative approach that can be adapted by the biotechnology field in a significant manner​

The American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists is a professional, scientific organization of approximately 10,000 members employed in academia, industry, government, and other research institutes worldwide. Founded in 1986, AAPS advances the capacity of pharmaceutical scientists to develop products and therapies that improve global health.

The University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is a leader in the education of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists, renowned for innovation in clinical practice and research. The school is accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) and ranked as one of the top 25 schools of pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences in the United States.