Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award

Lisa Benincosa.

Congratulations to Lisa Benincosa, PhD '93, our 2022 Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award recipient.  

Benincosa is Senior Vice-President, Global Head of Translational Medicine at EMD Serono, a business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt Germany.

She began her professional career in the Clinical Pharmacokinetic Department at SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals, where she served as Section Head with additional global responsibility for preclinical and clinical pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics (PK/PD). Benincosa joined Pfizer in 2001 as Director in Clinical PK/PD and became Executive Director and Groton/New London Clinical Pharmacology Site Head in 2003. In 2009, she joined Roche and was Vice-President/Deputy Head Pharmaceutical Sciences and Global Head of DMPK, Clinical Pharmacology and Bioanalytical R&D over her 10-year tenure.

She has received numerous leadership awards throughout her career, including the Pfizer People Leader Award, the Tribute to Women and Industry Award, and the Leadership Excellence Award from Roche pRED.

She has more than 30 publications in peer reviewed journals. She is a long-standing member of professional societies serving as reviewer of journals and was recently named to the Board of Directors of American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

About the Award

Willis G. Gregory.

The Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award bears the name of our school's fourth dean and is given annually to an outstanding alumni pharmacist who personifies the ideals of service, integrity, and who, in the eyes of his or her associates, personifies the profession of pharmacy. This is the Alumni Association's most prestigious award.


The recipient must be an alumni pharmacist and hold a degree from the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Selection Guidelines

Nominees should be considered based on their exemplary, longstanding, professional service; longstanding contributions within:  pharmacy organizations, the University at Buffalo and the community; and unique achievements, discoveries, creations and other contributions to society and continued leadership of the profession of pharmacy.

Please Note: Current faculty members are ineligible for nomination