2007 November eNotes


University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
November 2007
Dean's e-Notes
Welcome to the November SoPPS Dean’s eNotes. Halfway through the fall semester we have several faculty, staff and student accomplishments to tell you about; we also have alumni successes to share and, sadly, news of an untimely death.

Please stay in touch. Forward updates on your personal and professional accomplishments by e-mail to phm-alumni@buffalo.edu. You will hear from us again in January.

With warm regards,
Wayne K. Anderson, Ph.D., professor and dean
Wayne Anderson, Ph.D., professor and dean
Tammie Lee Demler
Alumni Notes
Tammie Lee Demler ’02 was named one of Buffalo Business First’s 2007 “40 Under 40.” Buffalo Business First’s “40 Under 40” recognizes outstanding young leaders in the Western New York area for their professional success and community involvement.

Sylvie Gregoire ’86 was named president of Human Genetic Therapies, Shire Pharmaceuticals Group. In her role as president, Gregoire will be responsible for setting the strategic direction of the HGT business, directing their R&D and portfolio management processes, and overseeing supply teams, as well as contributing to the execution of the overall strategic direction of Shire.

Michael Taylor ’81 was named president and chief executive officer of Ensemble Discovery. At Ensemble, Taylor will be developing drug discovery and biodetection programs, building on his success in the pharmaceutical industry.
In Memoriam
It is with deep sadness that the school reports the Sept. 17 death of Katherine Doyle, Pharm.D. ’06, Niagara Hospice Residency ’07. Katie had just completed her Niagara Hospice Residency and joined the Kaleida Health System in Buffalo as a staff pharmacist. Katie’s family has graciously started a memorial fund in her name at the school. Contributions can be sent to the Katie Doyle Memorial Fund, University at Buffalo Foundation, P.O. Box 900, Buffalo, NY 14226. For more information about the fund, contact Leigh Yates, assistant dean and director of development, ltyates@buffalo.edu or (716) 645-3432.
NCPA Winners
(L-R) Ramsay, Centeno, Fiebelkorn, Jones and Yohonn.
Student notes
UB Team Wins NCPA Business Plan Competition
The UB SoPPS Pruitt Schutte Business Plan student team won first place at the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) 109th Annual Convention in Anaheim, Calif., in October. UB team members are Alexandra Centeno (captain), Kathryn Jones, Christina Ramsay and Liliana Yohonn, with faculty guidance from Karl Fiebelkorn, assistant dean for student affairs and professional relations. The winning team’s prizes included $3,000 for its NCPA chapter, $3,000 to support independent pharmacy study and a free trip for Dean Wayne Anderson, Professor Fiebelkorn and all team members to the NCPA Multi-Locations Conference in Cancun, Mexico, in February 2008. More
Sofia Gameiro
Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Student Wins 2007 AAPS Biotec Travel Award
Sofia Gameiro, Ph.D. candidate in pharmaceutical sciences, has won a $750 American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) travel award to attend the AAPS annual meeting and exposition in San Diego, Calif., in November. Gameiro will present an abstract, “GST1194 Affects the Maturation of S. mansoni Females: Implications for Vaccine Development.”
Faculty/Staff notes
Various SoPPS faculty presented posters at the September 2007 Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy (ICAAC) in Chicago, Ill. Sarah McCabe, Alan Forrest, Qing Ma, Robert DiCenzo and Gene Morse presented “An Appropriate Structural and Population Pharmacokinetic Model for Atazanavir”; Qing Ma, Alan Forrest, Sarah McCabe, Daniel Brazeau, Robin DiFrancesco and Gene Morse presented “MDR1 Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms in HIV-Infected Substance Users and Nonusers During Therapeutic Drug Monitoring”; and Robert DiCenzo and Robin DiFrancesco presented “Lopinavir Cerebrospinal Fluid Trough Concentrations in HIV-Infected Adults.”

Robin DiFrancesco and Gene Morse published “Buprenorphine Assay and Plasma Concentration Monitoring in HIV-Infected Substance Users” in J Pharm Biomed Anal. May 2007.

Gene Morse published “Antiretroviral Drug Levels and Interactions Affect Lipid, Lipoprotein, and Glucose Metabolism in HIV-1 Seronegative Subjects: A Pharmacokinetic-Pharmacodynamic Analysis” in Metabolic Syndrome and Related Disorders, June 2007.

Robin DiFrancesco, Robert DiCenzo and Gene Morse published “Determination of Lopinavir Cerebral Spinal Fluid and Plasma Ultrafiltrate Concentrations by Liquid Chromatography Coupled to Tandem Mass Spectrometry” in J Pharm Biomed Anal., September 2007

Jennifer Hess presented a preconference seminar, “Successfully Managing Support Staff: A Workshop for Professionals With Supervisory Responsibilities,” at the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) Annual Conference, Austin, Texas. Jennifer also recently received a SUNY College Admissions Professionals professional development grant to attend a grant-writing workshop in Buffalo.

Patty Fan-Havard (with others) published “A Liquid Chromatography/Atmospheric Pressure Minimization Tandem Mass Spectrometry Quantitation Method for Nevirapine and Its Two Oxidative Metabolites, 2 Hydroxynevirapine 4-Carboxylic Acid” and “Pharmacokinetics in Baboons” in Rapid Commun in Mass Spectrom., 2007.

Patty Fan-Havard (and others) published “Characterization of Viologic and Immunologic Responses Following Initiation of ART in HIV-Treatment Naive Pregnant Women” in the proceedings of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology Annual Meeting, October 2007.
Upcoming continuing education programs

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear UB SoPPS Alumni Reception: Tuesday, December 4, 2007, 5:30 p.m.–7:00 p.m. in the San Marco Room (#803) of the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. RSVP: phm-alumni@buffalo.edu.

Alumni Wine and Cheese Reception: Friday, February 1, 2008, 7:00 p.m.– 9:30 p.m., Jacobs Executive Development Center, 672 Delaware Ave., Buffalo.

SoPPS Student Charity Gala: Saturday, February 9, 2008, Samuel’s Grande Manor, 8750 Main St., Williamsville.

Annual Awards Ceremony: Thursday, April 10, 2008, UB Center for Tomorrow

Student Scholarship Golf Tournament: Monday, June 9, 2008, Lockport Town and Country Club, 717 East Ave., Lockport

Alumni Reunion and Dinner Dance: Saturday, September 27, 2008, Holiday Inn Grand Island Resort and Conference Center, 100 Whitehaven Rd., Grand Island.
For additional information, please see our news and events listings at www.pharmacy.buffalo.edu/school_news.shtml.
School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences • Office of External Affairs
716.645.3340 • phm-alumni@buffalo.edu • www.pharmacy.buffalo.edu