2007 May eNotes


University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
May 2007
Dean's e-Notes
Welcome to the fourth edition of Dean's e-Notes. With the end of another academic year comes the opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of our students and faculty. I am very pleased to share news about awards and other recognition they have earned and to invite you to share my pride and admiration for their diligence and hard work.

Please stay in touch with us. We encourage you to send us updates on your personal and professional accomplishments by e-mail to phm-alumni@buffalo.edu so we can share that good news as well. You will hear from us again in July.

With warm regards,
Wayne K. Anderson, Ph.D., professor and dean
Wayne Anderson, Ph.D., professor and dean
Amgen logo Marilyn Morris
Marilyn Morris
William Jusko
William Jusko
Gene Morse
Gene Morse
Edward Bednarczyk
Edward Bednarczyk
School Notes
Amgen Supports Fellowships
Amgen has awarded three grants totaling $145,000 to the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences for fellowships in pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics research.

William J. Jusko, chair of the department, praised Amgen for its support of important studies conducted by the UB team of faculty and students. He gave special thanks to Andrew Chow ('84,'85), Amgen senior director, pharmacokinetics and pharmacometrics, who helped facilitate the awards.

The funds will be used for fellowships in three areas--hematology, bone diseases, and inflammation--that are of joint interest to the school's faculty and students and Amgen's drug-development efforts. More

Faculty, Students Recognized at Celebration of Excellence
The following faculty honors were announced at the University at Buffalo's Celebration of Academic Excellence on April 19:
Marilyn Morris, professor, pharmaceutical sciences, and associate dean, graduate and postgraduate education, the Graduate School, received the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
William Jusko, professor and chair of pharmaceutical sciences, was named a UB Distinguished Professor.

Also at the event, the following students were invited to present research posters: Nathan Page, Christine Lee, Stephen Webster, Jenna Voelinger, Thu Dung Nguyen, Hoi Kei Lon and Chia-Ching Wu.

Morse and Bednarczyk Take on New Roles
In response to unprecedented growth in both the school's research and academic programs, Dean Anderson has announced these administrative changes:
Gene Morse, professor of pharmacy practice and research professor of medicine, will take on focused duties within the school's research arena and has been appointed as associate dean for clinical and translational research.
Edward Bednarczyk, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice and research assistant professor, nuclear medicine, will fill the position of chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice (vacated by Morse upon his new appointment). All members of the school look forward to working with both Morse and Bednarczyk in their new roles.
Robert Wahler
Robert Wahler
Faculty Notes
Faculty Selected for New York State American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Awards
The NYS AACP annual awards recognize pharmacists who promote excellence and innovation in clinical practice, teaching and research. The following faculty members have been chosen for these awards and will be honored at the association's spring meeting:
Linda Catanzaro, Clinical Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice: Educator of the Year
Brian Tsuji, Clinical Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice: Researcher of the Year
Robert Wahler: Clinical Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice: Clinical Practitioner of the Year
Student Notes
Kappa Psi/Gamma Iota Chapter Awarded 2006 Nicholas W. Fenney Industry Scholarship
The school's Gamma Iota chapter of Kappa Psi pharmaceutical fraternity was awarded the 2006 Nicholas W. Fenney Industry Scholarship Award. The honor is given annually to the chapter that demonstrates the greatest improvement in scholastic achievement over the past year. The fraternity has 69 chapters. The school's chapter was also recognized as first in Province V Midwest Region (13 pharmacy schools from Wisconsin to New York) for overall performance inclusive of serving the fraternity, advancing the profession and performing community service.
Upcoming Events
Fourth Annual Student Scholarship Golf Tournament: June 11, 2007, Lockport Town & Country Club http://www.pharm.buffalo.edu/golf07/
Alumni Reunion and Dinner Dance: September 29, 2007, Classics V Banquet Center, 2425 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Amherst.
For additional information, please see our news and events listings at www.pharmacy.buffalo.edu/school_news.shtml.
School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences • Office of External Affairs
716.645.3340 • phm-alumni@buffalo.edu • www.pharmacy.buffalo.edu