University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Daniel H. Murray Memorial Professional Development Award

Congratulations to Sarah Spitznogle, '18, our 2017 Daniel H. Murray Memorial Award recipient.  

The Dr. Daniel H. Murray Professional Development Award was established in 2001 by Thomas Bardos, PhD, in memory of Dean Murray, to recognize a student who is engaged in an innovative research project, has demonstrated extraordinary scholarly work, and has maintained a high level of academic success.

Dean Murray was instrumental in creating the high research reputation of our school. He fostered an environment of active and rigorous scholarship that continues today.  More importantly, Dean Murray hired many outstanding scientists as faculty members, who have made life-long contributions to the growth of our school.

Among those whom he hired was Dr. Thomas Bardos, a premier medicinal chemist who contributed significantly in the area of chemotherapy; his scientific accomplishments have been recognized by many national and international societies.  Dr. Bardos passed away in 2012 at the age of 96, an inspiration to our faculty and students for almost a half-century.

Murray Award Recipients

2016    Faisal Minhaj '17
2015    Zackery Bulman '15
2014    Elizabeth Lakota '15
2013    Christine Trezza '13
2012    Meghan Rowcliffe '12
2011    Gauri Rao '11
2010    Charles Venuto '10
2009    Liliana Yohonn '09
2008    Deborah Liana '08
2007    Stephanie McCutcheon '08
2006    Nathaniel Page '07
2005    Amy Partridge '06
2004    Daniel McNatty '05
2003    Elizabeth Raybon-Hess '04
2002    Lisa Predko '02

"); pageTracker._trackPageview();