Orville C. Baxter Memorial Professional Practice Award

Congratulations to Christopher Rubino, PharmD '96, the 2019 Orville C. Baxter Memorial Professional Practice Award recipient.


Rubino is one of three principal founders and the Executive Vice President of Pharmacometrics for the Institute for Clinical Pharmacodynamics (ICPD), which has offices in Buffalo and Schenectady, N.Y. Along with his two partners, Sujata M. Bhavnani and Paul G. Ambrose, he has overseen the growth of ICPD from a small group of PK/PD scientists to its current size of over 30 scientists, programmers and lab technicians. Their work has led to the integration of PK/PD first principles in drug development decision-making, including pioneering the development of the PK-PD CompassĀ®, a tool enabling a shift in how anti-infective agents are selected and dosed–toward patient-centered care through precision medicine.

Rubino is also an adjunct associate research professor at the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

He has served as a resource for pharmaceutical firms during the submission of adult- and pediatric-related filings to the Food and Drug Administration and European Medicines Agency across several therapeutic areas. His experience in this area spans the full breadth of activities from designing studies in adults and children to analysis of PK-PD data from such studies and, ultimately, to presentation at regulatory and international scientific meetings.

He is a member of the International Society of Pharmacometrics and the American Society for Microbiology, and also serves as a member of the Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Editorial Board and the Roswell Park Cancer Institute Institutional Review Board. He has authored more than 50 peer-reviewed publications and has assisted in refereeing numerous industry journals, including Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Diseases and the Journal of Pediatric Pharmacy Practice.

Rubino received his BS in Pharmacy from the University of Connecticut and completed a two-year post-doctoral fellowship in pediatric pharmacology at the Women’s Hospital of Greensboro.

The Orville C. Baxter Memorial Professional Practice Award, established in 1992, bears the name of a long standing faculty member who was extraordinarily dedicated to the professional practice of pharmacy. This annual award is given to recognize an outstanding practicing alumni pharmacist who demonstrates high ideals of professionalism and whose practice demonstrates genuine concern for patients.

The recipient must be a practicing pharmacist with at least five years of experience and have a BS in Pharmacy or a PharmD degree from the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.


The recipient must be an alumni pharmacist and hold a degree from the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Selection Guidelines

Nominees should be considered based on their professional and innovative pharmacy practice; concern for patients; pursuit of continuing education; mentoring of pharmacy students; participation in community health information programs; and ability to work cooperatively and effectively with others for the advancement of the profession of pharmacy.

Please Note: Current faculty members are ineligible for nomination