Plewinski appointed to second term with APhA-ASP

Laurie Plewinski.

By Kara Sweet

Published February 7, 2020

Laurie Plewinski (PharmD ’21) has been appointed to serve a second term as chair of the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) National Communications Standing Committee for 2020-2021.

“APhA-ASP is setting me up for my dream career. ”

She is one of only six student pharmacists from across the country selected for the Communications Standing Committee.

As chair, Plewinski will help develop communications for social media, email, printed publications and online resources to distribute to student chapters across the country.

“Thanks to the networking offered by APhA-ASP, my fellow student pharmacists have had much success in acquiring fellowships, residencies and dream careers,” she says. “I know that APhA-ASP is setting me up for my dream career, too.”

Plewinski became involved with APhA-ASP as a first-year student pharmacist, where she served as Regional Member At-Large for Region 1, which includes all schools of pharmacy from eight northeastern states.

The mission of the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists is to be the collective voice of student pharmacists, to provide opportunities for professional growth, to improve patient care, and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy.

For over 130 years, the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has continually been a leader in the education of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists, renowned for innovation in clinical practice and research. The school is accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) and is the No. 1 ranked school of pharmacy in New York State and No. 22 in the United States by U.S. News & World Report.